Questions about what kind of workflows Naninovel supports: FMOD, Addressables

Discussion of topics that don't fit other sub-forums.
PersonMan

Questions about what kind of workflows Naninovel supports: FMOD, Addressables

Post by PersonMan »

Hello! I'm looking to add a visual novel plugin to handle story sequences in my game. I love the Naninovel sample project on https://naninovel.com/demo/ but I have some questions about the workflow that the demo doesn't cover. I'm an engineer so feel free to give technical answers.

Audio : I'm currently using FMOD in the other parts of my game. How does Naninovel operate with an existing FMOD plugin?

More Audio : I don't hear any voice acting in the demo scene. Does Naninovel support speech? If so, how?

Asset Bundles and Addressables : My hope is that I can use Addressables to store all the visual novel assets as AssetBundles. How well does Naninovel work using this workflow? Would it present any issues? Is there a sample project that shows how one would do this?

Elringus
admin

Re: Questions about what kind of workflows Naninovel supports: FMOD, Addressables

Post by Elringus »

Hi, We don't support FMOD out of the box, but it's possible to override the audio handler (w/o modifying the sources). Here is the guide on overriding engine services: https://naninovel.com/guide/engine-serv ... n-services For this case specifically though, it would probably be enough to provide a custom IAudioPlayer implementation (assigned in Naninovel's audio config).

Regarding voice over, Naninovel provide multiple options, including auto-playing the voices associated with printed text; here are the docs: https://naninovel.com/guide/voicing

Addressables are supported out of the box; check the docs for more info and an example project: https://naninovel.com/guide/resource-pr ... ddressable

PersonMan

Re: Questions about what kind of workflows Naninovel supports: FMOD, Addressables

Post by PersonMan »