Character display name in managed text "CharacterNames" not work

The engine is not working as expected? Documentation is wrong or out of date? Let us know here!
Forum rules
We are not providing support via this forum; it's community-driven. For official support see https://naninovel.com/support/#naninovel-support
Post Reply
komasuke
Posts: 8
Joined: 16 Oct 2022 18:57

Character display name in managed text "CharacterNames" not work

Post by komasuke »

Hello.

I want to use "CharacterNames" managed text for display name In Default locale.
But It is not work.

My character ID is "yule"
"Display Name" Configuration input box is blank.
(Project Settings -> Naninovel -> Characters -> Manage Characters Resource -> (yule) -> Display Name)

"CharacterNames" Managed text is setted.
(/Asset/Resources/Naninovel/Text/CharacterNames)

Code: Select all

yule: ユール

But AuthorNameText in Dialogue Printer show me just character id yule
I want to show ユール


I try to modify naninovel source.

CharacterManager.cs

(As-is)

Code: Select all

if (!localizationManager.IsSourceLocaleSelected())
            displayName = textManager.GetRecordValue(characterId, CharactersConfiguration.DisplayNamesCategory);

when delete "if" statements,

(To-be)

Code: Select all

displayName = textManager.GetRecordValue(characterId, CharactersConfiguration.DisplayNamesCategory);

It works !

But I Understand, Modifying naninovel engine source is not safe way.
What other solution I can do ?

Elringus
admin
Posts: 521
Joined: 11 May 2020 18:03

Re: Character display name in managed text "CharacterNames" not work

Post by Elringus »

That's by design: when under default locale display names are pulled from actor config. If you want to override internal Naninovel behaviour without modifying the sources, check out: https://naninovel.com/guide/engine-serv ... n-services

komasuke
Posts: 8
Joined: 16 Oct 2022 18:57

Re: Character display name in managed text "CharacterNames" not work

Post by komasuke »

wow, Thank you for your response.
I'll try this way!

Elringus
admin
Posts: 521
Joined: 11 May 2020 18:03

Re: Character display name in managed text "CharacterNames" not work

Post by Elringus »

I've also changed the behavior in v1.19 pre-release, so that display names will now be fetched from managed text even when under source locale. The pre-release package can be downloaded on our Discord.

Post Reply