startTrans Bug

The engine is not working as expected? Documentation is wrong or out of date? Let us know here!
Forum rules
We are not providing support via this forum; it's community-driven. For official support see https://naninovel.com/support/#naninovel-support
Post Reply
booksuny
Posts: 47
Joined: 26 Sep 2022 12:37

startTrans Bug

Post by booksuny »

@back BG
@char Rebi
@spawn Snow wait:false
Rebi: Hello World!
Rebi: Lets GO naninovel!

@startTrans

@char Rebi.invi time:0
@back shool time:0
@finishTrans CloudReveal time:2 wait:false
@despawn Snow params:0 wait:false
@char Han look:center time:0
Han: Hello World!
Han: welcome to Unity!

@stop

I have written the code

After playing the game, the screen gets bigger and smaller the moment @startTrans is running.

At first, I thought it was only for test play.
But the same thing happens when you pull out an actual build.

Is there anyone who experiences the same bug as me?

booksuny
Posts: 47
Joined: 26 Sep 2022 12:37

Re: startTrans Bug

Post by booksuny »

I thought the phenomenon would disappear after removing the snow effect, but the same phenomenon continues to occur.

booksuny
Posts: 47
Joined: 26 Sep 2022 12:37

Re: startTrans Bug

Post by booksuny »

After continuing to experiment, you can see the blue screen intermittently.

It's my first time using Nanninobel recently, so everything is the latest version.

idaot
support
Posts: 262
Joined: 01 Aug 2020 08:25

Re: startTrans Bug

Post by idaot »

Are the backgrounds the same size/aspect ratio? Make sure the Match Mode is set to Crop otherwise a popup effect the way you described might occur. https://naninovel.com/guide/backgrounds.html#match-mode

booksuny
Posts: 47
Joined: 26 Sep 2022 12:37

Re: startTrans Bug

Post by booksuny »

idaot wrote: 28 Sep 2022 17:28

Are the backgrounds the same size/aspect ratio? Make sure the Match Mode is set to Crop otherwise a popup effect the way you described might occur. https://naninovel.com/guide/backgrounds.html#match-mode

Thank you for your reply.
However, the same phenomenon occurs when the size ratio is adjusted and set with crop.

Is there any other solution?

idaot
support
Posts: 262
Joined: 01 Aug 2020 08:25

Re: startTrans Bug

Post by idaot »

I tried it myself and it indeed appears to be buggy. I've submitted a repro to Elringus, any fixes will be issued in the Discord channel, be sure to join the channel and register your copy to gain access to the download channel.

https://naninovel.com/support/#naninovel-support

idaot
support
Posts: 262
Joined: 01 Aug 2020 08:25

Re: startTrans Bug

Post by idaot »

Unfortunately Elringus was unable to reproduce the bug even with the reproduction project I sent him. It's possible this issue only affects select hardware which will be hard to fix on our end unfortunately.

Elringus
admin
Posts: 521
Joined: 11 May 2020 18:03

Re: startTrans Bug

Post by Elringus »

It's indeed not reproducing on my end, so it will probably take more time than usual to investigate. If it's a critical issue for you, please contact us on Discord and we'll try to find a solution or a temp workaround.

booksuny
Posts: 47
Joined: 26 Sep 2022 12:37

Re: startTrans Bug

Post by booksuny »

Elringus wrote: 29 Sep 2022 14:20

It's indeed not reproducing on my end, so it will probably take more time than usual to investigate. If it's a critical issue for you, please contact us on Discord and we'll try to find a solution or a temp workaround.

Thank you for your kind reply.

I thought it was a bug that only happens on certain hardware
I've written the same code on another computer, and it still happens.

I'm a Korean, so what kind of conflict is there in the Korean window?

For your information, if you move the map without using the startTrans function, there is no bug.

It's just a little disappointing because you have to erase the character first.

Is there another roundabout way to get rid of characters at the same time when the background changes without the startTrans feature?

Elringus
admin
Posts: 521
Joined: 11 May 2020 18:03

Re: startTrans Bug

Post by Elringus »

Is there another roundabout way to get rid of characters at the same time when the background changes without the startTrans feature?

If you want to run multiple commands concurrently, use wait:false, eg:

Code: Select all

@hide CharId wait:false
@hide BgId

; Or in single command
@hide CharId,BgId

— or disable wait by default in player config.

booksuny
Posts: 47
Joined: 26 Sep 2022 12:37

Re: startTrans Bug

Post by booksuny »

Elringus wrote: 29 Sep 2022 15:22

Is there another roundabout way to get rid of characters at the same time when the background changes without the startTrans feature?

If you want to run multiple commands concurrently, use wait:false, eg:

Code: Select all

@hide CharId wait:false
@hide BgId

; Or in single command
@hide CharId,BgId

— or disable wait by default in player config.

Thank you.
I'll wait for the solution!

MBoy
Posts: 7
Joined: 12 Jul 2020 01:25

Re: startTrans Bug

Post by MBoy »

Hi devs team,
I'd like to mention that I've seen exactly same bug at @startTrans~@finishTrans tag.
I also received several feedbacks from players about this issue so it seems to happen other users too.

In my case it happen a lot when I use @camera in transition.
Example:
@startTrans
@back yellow tint:white time:0
@camera toggle:Grayscale time:0
@camera offset:0,2 zoom:0.4 time:0
@finishTrans time:1
It doesn't happen 100%, but about once every two times of playing the script.

Hope it will be resoleved at some point.

idaot
support
Posts: 262
Joined: 01 Aug 2020 08:25

Re: startTrans Bug

Post by idaot »

Make sure you have the latest version (1.18.2 or newer from discord server #download channel) as there were issues with the transition commands which have since received bug fixes.

Post Reply