Paper Doll Sprites

Using Naninovel C# APIs: adding custom actor implementations or commands, overriding engine services, integrating with other systems, etc.
Vitriolic_Crux

Paper Doll Sprites

Post by Vitriolic_Crux »

Hello! I am a RenPy dev who is very new to Unity, and I am trying to implement the mechanisms similar to the ones I created in Python in C# and Unity.

I am trying to implement a paper-doll-styled sprite in Naninovel that is similar to how I had implemented it in RenPy. Essentially, I had an ordered list of sprite assets that would each be shown or hidden based on logical conditions.

I understand that the LayeredCharacter implementation allows for something similar to this, but from my understanding it is not as dynamic as what I need. In my game, a character's outfit is generated and set based on in-game TOD, their current activity, and other various stats. Instead of setting the Character's elements within the Naninovel script, I'm wondering if there is a C# statement equivalent that would allow me to dynamically set their displayed elements based on generated conditions.

In essence, is there a way to do this:

Code: Select all

@char Miho.Body>Uniform

using C# code instead of a Naninovel command?

I'm thinking maybe something like Miho.ApplyComposition("Body>Uniform"), but I thought I should come here for a quick sanity check, or to see if this whole thing is hopeless and I should just come up with a jury-rigged solution.

idaot
support

Re: Paper Doll Sprites

Post by idaot »

For a non-C# solution, I suggest storing the data in custom variables: https://naninovel.com/guide/custom-vari ... -variables

In terms of C#, it's possible to instantiate any command and manually invoke it, you can see an example in the Integration Options guide where a custom command (@novel, in other words SwitchToNovelMode) is being executed in C#: https://naninovel.com/guide/integration ... hing-modes

Vitriolic_Crux

Post by Vitriolic_Crux »